Compiling on Ubuntu. Some OpenAL configure errors.

ArtHure

01-12-2007 19:13:00

Hello there.

I just wanted to compile ogreal. I followed every step in that compiling guide which is for windows. But I thought the sequence is the same.

But after installing openal, freeglut, libogg and libvorbis, I get errors when I try to configure OgreAL.

checking for OPENAL... configure: error: Package requirements (freealut) were not met:

Package @requirements@ was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `@requirements@.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package '@requirements@', required by 'OpenAL', not found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables OPENAL_CFLAGS
and OPENAL_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.

I have to say that I'm new to this linux stuff. So please be patient, if this is a dumb question. ^^

ciao Arthure

libolt

01-12-2007 19:26:32

Arthure.

Make sure you install the libalut-dev and libopenal-dev packages. That should fix the error you're getting.

Mike

ArtHure

01-12-2007 19:29:38

Thanks. I just checked. They should be installed. Also Synaptic tells me that version 1.1 is installed correctly. OpenAL is installed with version 0.0.8.

libolt

01-12-2007 20:17:22

Did you run ./bootstrap before running ./configure?

ArtHure

01-12-2007 20:19:59

Yes I did. I think I had to, because otherwise I couldn't run ./configure.
Maybe I should go the alternative way, with setting the global variables.
But I don't know how and to which value or path.

libolt

01-12-2007 20:29:33

Could you paste the full output of your ./configure run?

I'm attempting to patch a few things related to building on linux. The main one being that the demos don't link against libOIS.