Deciding on MOgre ... about WPF, alternative C# engines, etc

elfric

27-08-2010 17:27:01

Hi, I'm pondering on which engine to use based on my project requirements (which are, admittedly fuzzy at the moment). So far, Mogre is the top choice, but I wanted to see if I could solicit others' opinions and advice on setup, add-ons, etc.

My background is as a programmer. By career, I'm a professional game programmer, but this is a side project of my own. It's ambitious, but that's ok - if I get something good accomplished, great, if not, well, I'll learn some new things and enjoy the time I spend working on it. I'm explaining this so that I don't get a lot of troll-bait about how I shouldn't be embarking on a big project or that I have no clue what it takes to make a game. I do and I'm still undaunted. 'nuff said.

Anyway, the game I'm aiming for is somewhat of a cross between Might & Magic and Oblivion. For those who are interested, I have some of the game design finished and will have a website and wiki up soon so I can post a link with more details soon. I have almost no artistic skills, so whatever the visual look will be beyond the UI, etc will all be up to artists. My desire is to have a good enough base rendering engine that I can set some artists loose and have confidence that they can build something decent without me having to spend any more time than necessary on creating tools for them. My main concern and enjoyment out of this will be in designing the game mechanics, the UI and the AI - not tools/pipeline, rendering, physics, animation, etc. I've done enough of those in my normal job that I know what a time-sink they are and want to avoid that if possible.