Problems with .NET 4.0

shadoslayer

06-07-2011 22:27:18

Hi everyone!
I am relatively new to Mogre, and though in the past i was able to set up the quick start application with Mogre from source for .NET 4.0, it was a huge pain in the rear and I've had to perform a hard drive reformat. I initially used the installer, however this didn't work for me, as I use VS 2010, and Mogre is compiled in .NET 2.0. every time i tried to run anything that i made, it gave me the mixed mode assembly error, telling me that I can't use that version of Mogre because it wasn't compiled in .NET 4.0. I remember having this error before, but I forget how i fixed my problem. I don't really want to go through the labor of compiling from source again(maybe im just a noob, but it took me several weeks to get it to work), and I found the enginedeps repository. which is already compiled with .NET 4.0! So to test it out, i replaced the entire bin folder of the mogre quick start with the bin found in the repository(I combined all of the Release and Debug folders from each of the libs into one folder, then copy/pasted), figuring that it would work. I figured wrong. I get the error telling me that Mogre.dll or a dependency could not be loaded(the same error I got with the quick start project before I copy/pasted the directories), and I honestly have no idea what to do, or how to make a project with this package. If someone could walk me through how to set up an application with this, I would be very appreciative, and I could get back on track with building my game. I'm really lost with this, and I'm sure there's something simple that I'm just not doing, but i have no idea what that might possibly be. :?

Beauty

08-07-2011 00:21:19

Hi shadoslayer,

welcome to the Mogre world.
I'm sad to hear that you have such heavy problems.

Thanks for your detailed report.
I don't have experience with Mogre under .NET 4.0.

User mstoyke provided precompiled binaries for .NET 4.0.