initialise or initialize?

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.

initialise or initialize?

Postby shanefarris » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:16 pm

I am a bad speller, but when you call root->initialise(), shouldn't it be spelled initialize?
shanefarris
Greenskin
 
Posts: 105
Kudos: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2009

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby xavier » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:17 pm

Not when the author of the library is British.
Do you need help? What have you tried?

Image

Angels can fly because they take themselves lightly.
User avatar
xavier
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 9481
Kudos: 23
Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Dublin, CA, US

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby shanefarris » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:21 pm

Interesting :)
shanefarris
Greenskin
 
Posts: 105
Kudos: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2009

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby nullsquared » Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:36 pm

I'm a USA guy but I spell some things the English way, such as colour, armour, etc. Others, I spell the "American" way, such as mom. I never understood why some kids called their mothers "mummy" :lol:
User avatar
nullsquared
Old One
 
Posts: 3245
Kudos: 9
Joined: 24 Apr 2007
Location: NY, NY, USA

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby DanielSefton » Thu Jul 30, 2009 10:56 pm

nullsquared wrote:Others, I spell the "American" way, such as mom. I never understood why some kids called their mothers "mummy" :lol:

...and 'mum', and 'mother' :P

INITIALISE.

Yeah, in general, American spellings end in ize, and English in ise.

But we all know the English spelling is superior. :wink:

Ogre uses English spellings - so naturally, anything using Ogre should use the same conventions. 8)
User avatar
DanielSefton
Ogre Magi
 
Posts: 1235
Kudos: 9
Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Klaim » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:04 pm

I'm french and I find it strange to choose between english UK and english US in some localised softwares like Firefox, Chrome, etc. XD
User avatar
Klaim
Old One
 
Posts: 2462
Kudos: 57
Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Location: Lille, France

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Roman » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:47 pm

Therefore typedefs were developed. :lol: Okay, not for function names.

I'm trying to write British English (as far as I can), generally and in source codes. So Ogre is nice for this idealism.
Software or projects should written consistent and not mixed.

Nevertheless, both are fine. :D
User avatar
Roman
Halfling
 
Posts: 92
Kudos: 0
Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Location: Germany

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby reptor » Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:36 pm

It's nice the British spelling is kept alive. Me, I don't have a problem using it in an API.

By the way I am a little surprised I haven't seen the word 'please' in the Ogre3D API yet... I visited London, UK, and I was told by a friend that I sound blunt if I don't say it. Perhaps Sinbad will start adding 'please' to the function names.

pleaseGetRenderSystem

pleaseCreateRenderWindow


et cetera :lol:
reptor
Ogre Magi
 
Posts: 1120
Kudos: 4
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Finland

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby betajaen » Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:53 pm

reptor wrote:pleaseGetRenderSystem


Remember your Please and Thankyous;

Code: Select all
mRoot->ISayOldChapWouldYouPleaseFetchMeTheRenderSystemThankYouVeryMuchIndeedy()


Or as it is today in Modern Britain with the "undesirables";

Code: Select all
mRoot->OIGetMeTheF__KINGRenderSystemNOW()


:D
User avatar
betajaen
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 3447
Kudos: 59
Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Location: Wales, UK

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Kojack » Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:05 pm

In Ruby you can end method names with ! or ?.
So you can effectively shout methods (in case you don't want to be polite to the compiler) or ask questions. It's a bit odd to see in code at first.

lolcode starts with HAI and ends with KTHXBYE, so it's a pretty polite language already.

Anyway...YAY for the U in colour!
User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 6625
Kudos: 430
Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby nbeato » Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:06 pm

reptor wrote:It's nice the British spelling is kept alive. Me, I don't have a problem using it in an API.

By the way I am a little surprised I haven't seen the word 'please' in the Ogre3D API yet... I visited London, UK, and I was told by a friend that I sound blunt if I don't say it. Perhaps Sinbad will start adding 'please' to the function names.

pleaseGetRenderSystem

pleaseCreateRenderWindow


et cetera :lol:


haha. I'm sold!
nbeato
Gnome
 
Posts: 372
Kudos: 2
Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Location: Florida

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby betajaen » Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:13 pm

Kojack wrote:In Ruby you can end method names with ! or ?.
So you can effectively shout methods (in case you don't want to be polite to the compiler) or ask questions. It's a bit odd to see in code at first.


I've been coding in Ruby for the last week, and I was surprised to find that being allowed. At first I thought it was a modifier such as const or static, but now use them with everything - it's awesome.

Code: Select all
def Root

  def GetMeTheF__KINGRenderSystem!
     @render_system
  end

  def ISayOldChapIsRootInitialisedYet?
     @initialised
  end

end


Genius.
User avatar
betajaen
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 3447
Kudos: 59
Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Location: Wales, UK

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Praetor » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:00 pm

betajaen wrote:
Code: Select all
  def ISayOldChapIsRootInitialisedYet?
     @initialised
  end



Genius indeed. I love it.
Game Development, Engine Development, Porting
http://www.darkwindmedia.com
User avatar
Praetor
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
 
Posts: 3335
Kudos: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Location: Rochester, New York, US

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Kaze Youkai » Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:22 am

Wait....
There are people who -actually- develop in LOLCODE?
User avatar
Kaze Youkai
Greenskin
 
Posts: 108
Kudos: 0
Joined: 03 Jun 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Fulmens » Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:01 pm

At least once :lol: :

http://99-bottles-of-beer.net/language- ... -1544.html
(this is ending in off topic and i'm participating...)
Fulmens
Gremlin
 
Posts: 151
Kudos: 1
Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Location: Nantes, France

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Goilveig » Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:56 am

nullsquared wrote:I'm a USA guy but I spell some things the English way, such as colour, armour, etc.


The funny thing is the reason behind those spellings. In Latin, it was spelled 'color', just as in modern Spanish or US English. In old French, it was colur, with the u sounding like the oo in pool. So the British decided to make the spelling "colour" so that they'd keep the -oo- sound of the old French... and then they promptly dropped the sound and pronounced it like "color" anyway.

Don't even get me STARTED on how bad our pronunciation of Latin and Greek names has become... the German "Kaiser" is far closer to the actual pronunciation of Caesar's last name than anything you'll find in English. Somewhere along the line, the English decided to let the 'C' make an 'S' sound sometimes (and then imported the 'K' from Greek to take over what the 'C' used to be doing).
Goilveig
Kobold
 
Posts: 35
Kudos: 0
Joined: 28 Jun 2009

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby nikki » Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:17 pm

The problem is that some libraries are from USA-guys while others are from British-guys. So I keep writing 'normalise' in my Cg or Bullet code.

Why can't you English language people decide on anything? :?

BTW, COBOL quadratic formula:-
Code: Select all
MULTIPLY B BY B GIVING B-SQUARED.  
MULTIPLY 4 BY A GIVING FOUR-A. 
MULTIPLY FOUR-A BY C GIVING FOUR-A-C. 
SUBTRACT FOUR-A-C FROM B-SQUARED GIVING RESULT-1. 
COMPUTE RESULT-2 = RESULT-1 ** .5.
SUBTRACT B FROM RESULT-2 GIVING NUMERATOR.
MULTIPLY 2 BY A GIVING DENOMINATOR.
DIVIDE NUMERATOR BY DENOMINATOR GIVING X.


(only one of the roots though)
User avatar
nikki
Old One
 
Posts: 2730
Kudos: 12
Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby betajaen » Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:04 pm

nikki wrote:Why can't you English language people decide on anything?


But isn't that true of most languages?

In Wales; although we are a pretty small country. There are differences in pronunciation and even spelling of several Welsh words; Dach chi isio panad/Dych chi moyn dishgled? (Do you want a cup of tea in North and South dialects of Welsh).

Although I'm sure danharibo can explain it better. You see where I live; You get strange looks for speaking Welsh out loud. :D
User avatar
betajaen
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 3447
Kudos: 59
Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Location: Wales, UK

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby nikki » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:33 pm

betajaen wrote:
nikki wrote:Why can't you English language people decide on anything?


But isn't that true of most languages?

In Wales; although we are a pretty small country. There are differences in pronunciation and even spelling of several Welsh words; Dach chi isio panad/Dych chi moyn dishgled? (Do you want a cup of tea in North and South dialects of Welsh).

Although I'm sure danharibo can explain it better. You see where I live; You get strange looks for speaking Welsh out loud. :D


Are there any Welsh APIs? That would be fun. :D
User avatar
nikki
Old One
 
Posts: 2730
Kudos: 12
Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby reptor » Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:34 pm

Well, yeah...

I started going to the elementary school in the mid-80's here in Finland. My native language is Finnish and that's what I was taught as my first language.

All that I was told about my language in school is not how it is today. They've changed some things!

One example is how in certain words two consecutive t's were supposed to be a single d. This makes sense to me, but it is not what the recommendation is today. So the newspapers, TV, etc., they spell those certain words differently than I do, if they follow the current official recommendation.

And I think the recommendation change regarding that is rather stupid. I noticed that many people from a certain part of the country speak like the current recommendation is today and I guess that's why the recommendation was changed, to make it match how they speak. It sounds more like a dialect to me but hey if that's what they want to use as the official language then I guess they can go for it...

It's worse, as far as I am concerned, and I will keep writing like I was taught to do, not because I was taught it like that, but because I think how I was taught to do it is more sensible, I actually speak also the same. I feel like as a nation we de-evolved into writing a dialect form of the words instead of the 'proper' form of the words. But it's just my opinion and subjective. Perhaps the kids of today think I am archaic when I write such "non-standard" versions of certain words.

But both versions of the words are well-understood by everyone so it isn't really a show-stopping bug :)

And the language has changed quite a lot in a few hundred years... so my complaint might be stupid and I might just be resisting because I don't speak like those other people do where they decided to change the official recommendation. I still can't help it, everytime I hear it it sounds wrong and more like what you would hear as a 'slang' and not as an official language. But this is probably normal in the evolution of languages.

In fact, people who have gone through our equivalent of "high school", where they teach the language things in great detail compared to the elementary school, thought I was wrong when I told them that the official recommendation regarding the writing of the certain words has changed. So I am not sure if the educational institutes have a common agreement on how to teach it - perhaps some language teachers are also resisting the official form and refuse to use it in classrooms.
reptor
Ogre Magi
 
Posts: 1120
Kudos: 4
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Finland

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby Kojack » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:31 pm

perhaps some language teachers are also resisting the official form and refuse to use it in classrooms.

A bit like how I refuse to use the new iso standards for computer units. It's a mega byte damn it! Not a @#$%ing mebi byte!

:)
User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
 
Posts: 6625
Kudos: 430
Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby spacegaier » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:38 pm

But both versions of the words are well-understood by everyone so it isn't really a show-stopping bug :)


Same here in Germany. We had the so called "Rechtschreibreform" (spelling reform) some years ago, resulting in the fact that various words can be written in several ways (similiar to initialize vs intialise), others got replaced, e.g. we used to have the character "ß" which is now replaced by "ss", but everyone would understand both...
Ogre Admin [DevTeamMember, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your sparetime? Help the Ogre wiki grow!
User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
 
Posts: 4073
Kudos: 106
Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Location: Germany

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby haffax » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:58 pm

We still have ß, the new rules only streamline usage of ß and ss. I remember I had problems with the old rules in this regard, but new ones are crystal clear. Other spelling changes are of varying quality imho. ;)
team-pantheon programmer
creators of Rastullahs Lockenpracht
User avatar
haffax
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 5084
Kudos: 3
Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby nikki » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:40 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mebibyte

This is lame. 'Megabyte' sounds so... hip... 'Mebibyte' is stupid.
User avatar
nikki
Old One
 
Posts: 2730
Kudos: 12
Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Re: initialise or initialize?

Postby mkultra333 » Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:20 pm

reptor wrote:It's nice the British spelling is kept alive. Me, I don't have a problem using it in an API.

By the way I am a little surprised I haven't seen the word 'please' in the Ogre3D API yet... I visited London, UK, and I was told by a friend that I sound blunt if I don't say it. Perhaps Sinbad will start adding 'please' to the function names.

pleaseGetRenderSystem

pleaseCreateRenderWindow


et cetera :lol:


Well then, just rewrite Ogre using INTERCAL

INTERCAL has many other features designed to make it even more aesthetically unpleasing to the programmer: it uses statements such as "READ OUT", "IGNORE", "FORGET", and modifiers such as "PLEASE". This last keyword provides two reasons for the program's rejection by the compiler: if "PLEASE" does not appear often enough, the program is considered insufficiently polite, and the error message says this; if too often, the program could be rejected as excessively polite. Although this feature existed in the original INTERCAL compiler, it was undocumented.[5]
"In theory there is no difference between practice and theory. In practice, there is." - Psychology Textbook.
User avatar
mkultra333
Beholder
 
Posts: 1544
Kudos: 64
Joined: 08 Mar 2009

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests