conceptual question on heightmaps + models

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
nevarim
Gnoll

conceptual question on heightmaps + models

Post by nevarim »

conceptual question:

I if I position a floor on a plot created by a heightmap, this I will be sunken in the ground since it is not the same plane.

you as you have settled the matter?

I thought of 2 ways:

by model (difficult) to create each model on the ground and not the other way
via code: make sure that the soil is suitable for automatic, but I do not think you can do this on heightmaps these being the result of a calculation on the basis of heights.

any suggestions?

thanks

Nevarim
i'm a noob until proven otherwise :D
used in my project ;) and thanks to everyone :D
Ogre 3d
Mygui
Skyx
Hydrax
MOC
CCS
tod
Troll

Re: conceptual question on heightmaps + models

Post by tod »

- put models on flat surface.
- make model thicker so part of it can get into the ground and still look good (like a house model)
- flatten terrain before placing
nevarim
Gnoll

Post by nevarim »

I too had thought about these answers,
analyzing them point by point:
- Put models on flat surface.
means I have to put everything on one sixth of the land and the effect is not the greatest, the world would be relatively empty.
- Make model thicker part of it I can get into the ground and still look good (like a house model)
makes the design of 3d models much more complicated and makes it unlikely the creation by the player of your own home at the point you wish to
- Flatten terrain before Placing
me this is the most difficult prer the programmer but also the most used in the world, this would mean me isntallare a concept of world modeling which falls into the dynamic modeling.

since the solution I'm using is the one applied in tutorial3, the use of heightmaps the only system would be: