is it possible to use Windows OS for iOS development?

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
rcossio777
Gnoblar

is it possible to use Windows OS for iOS development?

Post by rcossio777 »

Hi Team,

My name is Ralph Cossio and I am an inspiring game developer. I have a simple question that I wish you could answer soon. I am interested in your program and have heard only great things about it. I only have one question in regards to it which is important for me in regards to development purposes.

Can I work on a iOS project using a Windows CPU with their OS? Is there a way that I could modify, construct, develop iOS projects without an actual iOS device?

the purpose of this question is that at the moment, I do not own any sort of iOS product. I only have android and Windows. I will in the near future have an iOS device but I wanted to know if its possible with your development kit.

Thank you for your time,

Ralph Cossio
rcossio777@yahoo.com
c6burns
Beholder

Re: is it possible to use Windows OS for iOS development?

Post by c6burns »

No. If there is a way other than running OS X in a virtual (or actual) environment then it would be news to me.
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator

Post by Kojack »

There's ways.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2235 ... nt-machine
Not particularly nice ways though (installing OS X on your pc or in vmware), but they apparently work.
There was Winchain, but it looks like it hasn't been updated for a while.
A jailbroken iphone can apparently run the entire toolchain on itself (so the phone does the compiling), but I don't know how up to date that is.

The easiest way is to buy a Mac Mini (probably the cheapest apple desktop) and use that.
c6burns
Beholder

Post by c6burns »