Self lit blocks.

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Gradualcheetah
Gnoblar

Self lit blocks.

Post by Gradualcheetah »

Hi, I am making a voxel world (har har I know focus on the question please ;) ) and I am attempting to make my blocks "self illuminating" but only the faces pointed "up".
Now I am trying to resolve this without using a material file but instead pure code. This is what I am at currently (I am new to ogre and graphics all together so feel free to correct my useless attempts):

Code: Select all

void TutorialApplication::createTexture (const TCHAR* pName, const TCHAR* pImageFilename)
{
	Ogre::MaterialPtr mat = Ogre::MaterialManager::getSingleton().create(pName, "General", true );
	Ogre::Technique* tech = mat->getTechnique(0);
	Ogre::Pass* pass = tech->getPass(0);
	Ogre::TextureUnitState* tex = pass->createTextureUnitState();
 		pass->setVertexColourTracking(Ogre::TVC_DIFFUSE);
	tex->setTextureName(pImageFilename);
	tex->setNumMipmaps(4);
	tex->setTextureAnisotropy(1);
	tex->setTextureFiltering(Ogre::FO_POINT, Ogre::FO_POINT, Ogre::FO_POINT);

tex->setColourOperationEx(Ogre::LBX_MODULATE, Ogre::LBS_DIFFUSE, Ogre::LBS_TEXTURE);
}
some of that I'm sure has no place here, but I am at a loss. I believe I am attempting to color my vertices white? here is my (attempted) code for that:

Code: Select all

MeshChunk->position(x, y,   z+1);	MeshChunk->normal(-1,0,0);	MeshChunk->textureCoord(0, 1); MeshChunk->colour(1.0F, 1.0F, 1.0F);
					MeshChunk->position(x, y+1, z+1);	MeshChunk->normal(-1,0,0);	MeshChunk->textureCoord(1, 1); MeshChunk->colour(1.0F, 1.0F, 1.0F);
					MeshChunk->position(x, y+1, z);		MeshChunk->normal(-1,0,0);	MeshChunk->textureCoord(1, 0); MeshChunk->colour(1.0F, 1.0F, 1.0F);
					MeshChunk->position(x, y,   z);		MeshChunk->normal(-1,0,0);	MeshChunk->textureCoord(0, 0); MeshChunk->colour(1.0F, 1.0F, 1.0F);

Thanks in advance! :)
dbtx
Halfling