Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

The first time I tried to build my project I got this:

1>------ Build started: Project: Desolation, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1> Desolation.cpp
1>c:\ogresdk_vc11_v1-9-0\include\ogre\sdktrays.h(32): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'OgreOverlaySystem.h': No such file or directory
1> BaseApplication.cpp
1>c:\ogresdk_vc11_v1-9-0\include\ogre\sdktrays.h(32): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'OgreOverlaySystem.h': No such file or directory
1> Generating Code...
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Then i noticed that I was with VS2010 and using ogre for 2012 (I have both), so I downloaded Ogre3d for 2010 and the ogreapp wizard for 2010 (this one : Ogre AppWizard 1.8.0 for Visual C++ 2010 Express (VC10)).

It continued to show me this message so I went and included manually the folder where the OgreOverlaySystem.h was it successfully compiled Desolation.cpp but then this :

1>------ Build started: Project: Desolation, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1> BaseApplication.cpp
1>c:\users\educatedmf\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\desolation\desolation\src\baseapplication.cpp(128): error C2664: 'OgreBites::SdkTrayManager::SdkTrayManager(const Ogre::String &,Ogre::RenderWindow *,OgreBites::InputContext,OgreBites::SdkTrayListener *)' : cannot convert parameter 3 from 'OIS::Mouse *' to 'OgreBites::InputContext'
1> No constructor could take the source type, or constructor overload resolution was ambiguous
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========


I don't know what to do this is the tutorial I followed on youtube I also posted the problem there (been waiting for an answer 5 hours now....nothing ) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MF1tShklteg

Is it outdated and if yes where can I find a decent tutorial or a PDF file to show me how to setup OGRE.
I originally wanted to set it up in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate, but I wanted to strictly follow the tutorial, because I am a beginner and I thought it would be better.
Is there a way to set it up in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (I couldn't find app wizard)?
If yes where can I see how to do it....because I am sick of errors....

I
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by iblues1976 »

Hi,

Notice that the download for vs 2010 here ( http://www.ogre3d.org/download/sdk ) is for 32 bits which is what you are building, which is ok.


If you want a complete build package for 32 and 64 bits for 2010 or 2012 (they are different), get it from this thread: http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=69274

The wiki with the instructions for the download you have seems fine to me http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-ind ... e+Ogre+SDK

The first error you received it was about the include directories. Make you have set up your include directories properly
http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Setting+ ... ual+Studio

Don't include them as you did... just set up the include directories and libraries that you need properly. (look at the url above)

As far as your question, you can use vs 2012 no problem with the tutorials...

As far as an Ogre App Wizard, I have never used. But you should learn how to set up the environment first correctly.

searching in your tube for "How to set up ogre3d with visual studio 2010" I found this video that talks about the app wizard

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MF1tShklteg

Maybe that can be of help to you...

It is important that you look at the properties of your project to understand what the app wizard does...

Why don't you give it a try. Start again from scratch and see where it leads you... if you get that it cannot find the include directory, check what is your include directory and post it here.

I hope this helps
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

Thank you I will try that just now. By the way I am trying to build 32-bit because the 64-bit is unstable.
And 1.9xx are stables but 32-bits
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

So I did everything from here : http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-ind ... e+Ogre+SDK and http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Setting+ ... ual+Studio

And i got to this:

1>------ Build started: Project: ATLAS, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1> 'c:\users\educatedmf\documents\visual' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
1> operable program or batch file.
1> 'C:\OgreSDK_vc11_v1-9-0\Bin\Debug' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
1> operable program or batch file.
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(124,5): error MSB3073: The command "c:\users\educatedmf\documents\visual studio 2012\Projects\ATLAS\Debug\\ATLAS.exe
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(124,5): error MSB3073: C:\OgreSDK_vc11_v1-9-0\Bin\Debug
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(124,5): error MSB3073: :VCEnd" exited with code 9009.
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by iblues1976 »

if you want post screenshots of your property screens for include directory, libraries, and pre and post build options
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by iblues1976 »

Two additional items should be check.

1) Check if the environment variable OGRE_HOME is set, as you are making reference of it.

you can test by placing the actual directory (hard coding it , but only for testing)

2) post screens of the post build conditions
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

iblues1976 wrote:Two additional items should be check.

1) Check if the environment variable OGRE_HOME is set, as you are making reference of it.

you can test by placing the actual directory (hard coding it , but only for testing)

2) post screens of the post build conditions

I set it up like in the tutorial I made a bat file called OGRE_HOME with this inside :
setx OGRE_HOME %CD%
pause

pasted it in the ogre directory and run it, it said it was successful.
maximalista
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by maximalista »

2) post screens of the post build conditions

wh..how , where how to check ?
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by iblues1976 »

check if is set

what is the output of the environment variable


you can type
set and then enter on the prompt
to see where it is pointing to
Transporter
Minaton
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:37 am
Location: Germany
x 110

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by Transporter »

You can download 1.9 for vc110 at http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=69274

Instead of $(OGRE_HOME) you can also use the absolute path to Ogre SDK.
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre3d [build error on VSC++2010]

Post by iblues1976 »

I'm not sure if you were able to solve this problem.

If you were, you can edit the title topic as [SOLVED] (the first post) right before you title...

[SOLVED] Ogre3D [build error on VSC++2010]

for example.
I think the problem is in your OGRE_HOME... it may not be set properly.
Do what transporter said: just hardcore the path to see if it works.
Post Reply