[SOLVED] Release Mode with DebugInfo?

Get answers to all your basic programming questions. No Ogre questions, please!
Post Reply
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

[SOLVED] Release Mode with DebugInfo?

Post by iblues1976 »

Hello,

What is the correct way (and how to) set up ogre3D to have release with debug info.
I have debug already working and I could set up release. But I know some of you run with Release with DebugInfo.
I'm using vs 2012.

Thanks
Last edited by iblues1976 on Tue May 27, 2014 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Faranwath
Halfling
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:19 pm
Location: Cuba
x 7

Re: Release Mode with DebugInfo?

Post by Faranwath »

I've never built Ogre that way, but given that CMake comes with a built-in RelWithDebInfo build mode, I suppose all you'd have to do is:

Code: Select all

cmake <path/to/ogre> -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=RelWithDebInfo
User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 138

Re: Release Mode with DebugInfo?

Post by c6burns »

CMake's RelWithDebInfo does a few things that are unnecessary IMHO, but that is one quick way to get debug symbols added to an build almost identical to Release.

All you really need is to enable C++/General->Debug Info = Prog DB /Zi and Linker/Debugging->Generate Deb Info = Yes /DEBUG
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Release Mode with DebugInfo?

Post by iblues1976 »

c6burns , I like your aproach.
thanks
Post Reply