Skeleton Debugger

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
NickLH
Gnoblar

Skeleton Debugger

Post by NickLH »

I'm fairly new to Ogre (only downloaded it two days ago after playing with JMonkeyEngine for the last 4 months). The first thing I noticed is the complete lack of skeleton debugging tools. So my first endevour is to remedy this.

I shamelessly stole a bit of code from Node::DebugRenderable and hacked this together in a couple of hours (don't mind the low framerate, i'm on my slow laptop):

The main advantage is that the debug arrows actually translate with the character, something that is absent when using Ogre::Entity->setDisplaySkeleton(true)
I'll be adding more updates soon, with rendered bones like in blender, names, and making the arrows appear above the model instead of inside it (any ideas on how to do this?)

SkeletonDebug.h

Code: Select all

#ifndef SKELETONDEBUG_H_INCLUDED
#define SKELETONDEBUG_H_INCLUDED

#include <Ogre.h>

class SkeletonDebug
{
public:
    SkeletonDebug(Ogre::Entity *entity, Ogre::SceneManager *man);
    ~SkeletonDebug();

// For future use
    void setUniformScale(bool enable){mEnableUniformScaling = enable;}
    bool isUniformScale(){return mEnableUniformScaling;}

private:
    Ogre::Entity *mEntity;
    Ogre::MaterialPtr mMat;
    Ogre::MeshPtr mMeshPtr;
    Ogre::SceneManager *mSceneMan;

bool mEnableUniformScaling;
    float mScale;

void createMaterial();
    void createMesh();
};

#endif
SkeletonDebug.cpp

#include "SkeletonDebug.h"

SkeletonDebug::SkeletonDebug(Ogre::Entity* entity, Ogre::SceneManager *man)
{
    mEntity = entity;
    mSceneMan = man;

createMaterial();
    createMesh();

int numBones = mEntity->getSkeleton()->getNumBones();

for(unsigned short int iBone = 0; iBone < numBones; ++iBone)
    {
        Ogre::Bone* pBone = mEntity->getSkeleton()->getBone(iBone);
        if ( !pBone )
        {