OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

[GSoC 2013 - accepted] Ogre 2.0

Post by dark_sylinc »

Edit: Repository Fork

Hi everyone!
Here is my proposal for GSoC:

Motivation
As I've posted in the main Ogre 2.0 thread, Ogre is aging. And it's slow. Very slow. In circa 2008 we were the best free alternative and had comparable features. Today we're indirectly competing with game engines (Unity, CryEngine, UDK 4) and can no longer compete in price. We give Developers access to the source code, but as a downside, our features & performance is below of today's industry standards.
I'm always wanting to contribute to open source communities, and I feel I can a lot for Ogre. My devotion for Ogre doesn't start with GSoC and doesn't end with it; but it's nice that since I'm a student, Google is giving me the chance to focus myself full time on Ogre alone.

Project
The scope of the project is to bring Ogre to 2.0 state.
As the wiki roadmap says, I would be integrating the Array math component I've been developing in my spare time to Ogre core, writing a major overhaul of Entity, SubEntity, SceneNode, and Node for cache friendly layout, refactoring the SceneManager for much clever scene update, culling and rendering.

Didn't you say Ogre 2.0 was too big for GSoC?
I did say that. But my initial idea was to conceive Ogre 2.0 as a start-from-scratch project. Gladly, I was persuaded against that, and community feedback allowed me to prepare together a plan (the one in the wiki) that involves progressively converting the current code base in steps, not as a single giant project. This way it's much more feasible and can be doable for a GSoC.