Newbie and static linking

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
spectre1989
Gnoblar

Newbie and static linking

Post by spectre1989 »

Hi all,

I'm an Ogre newbie, I've been interested in the project for quite some time, but never quite managed to get started. Anyway, I've spent 5 years working on Unity games, but in about a month I'm starting my first C++ game dev job. I'd like to build some stuff with Ogre in the intervening time, as I've got very little experience of writing C++ games with an engine, it's always been all my own code before.

So a couple of questions - I'd firstly quite like to have the ogre source and dependencies in my project along with my source code. The reason for this is basically so I can hack stuff in Ogre and poke around in the inner workings, without having to do that in a seperate project, compile, copy lib to the other project, etc. Is this actually possible? As mentioned before, my experience of linking against libraries is fairly limited. Would I be right in thinking that this wouldn't be slower than statically linking assuming I hadn't changed the Ogre source code since the last build? Finally, last time I had a stab at Ogre there were C++11 issues so I gave up. I've found some threads which suggest that C++11 now plays nicely with Ogre, is this correct?

Cheers
Spec
LJS
Greenskin

Re: Newbie and static linking

Post by LJS »

Maybe you should use ogre first, get to know it before you start at the end. Of course you can poke around in the code, but again, get to now it as it is first. Thta goes for intermediate level too. Ogre only does the graphics so you need to link (or profide your own and... link) to other libs such as audio, physics or some other collision lib.

Linking to dynamic libs will be faster regarding to statically linking libs. In the latter the binairies will be copied into your executable. Runtime performance won't be effected as far as I know.