FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
ENGine
Goblin
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Belarus
x 2
Contact:

FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by ENGine »

Hi, all.

I'm developing the short game-project for iPad devices (testing only using of iPad Simulator under XCode, CPU 2.3GHz Intel Core i5, Memory 8Gb 1333MHz DDR3, Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB), thus, I didn't test this project on real device.
Using: Ogre3d, Bullet and OpenAL.
I have got the following result: FPS:4-6, NumBatches:137, NumTriagnles:110114 (all game scene is on frame).
What do you think it's ok fps or no? Thanks!
User avatar
Wolfmanfx
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Austria - Leoben
x 99
Contact:

Re: FPS. Your otinion

Post by Wolfmanfx »

Forget the sim for benchmarking you need to test on a real device.
User avatar
ENGine
Goblin
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Belarus
x 2
Contact:

Re: FPS. Your otinion

Post by ENGine »

The thing is that I thought that sim's FPS will be more than real fps(from device).
User avatar
Wolfmanfx
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Austria - Leoben
x 99
Contact:

Re: FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by Wolfmanfx »

Nope.
User avatar
ENGine
Goblin
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Belarus
x 2
Contact:

Re: FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by ENGine »

Guys,

If the app was built under real device, provision = iPhone Developer, scheme = release. it shown about 60 FPS. Is it max FPS that the app can make?
I'm meaning that if the app is uploaded to the market (iPhone Distribution), will the FPS be bigger ?

The thing is that I need to receive the max fps of the app. The info is:
batch: 76
triangles: 65685
device: Apple iPad Air 2 A1566
fps: 60

What do you think about this result: good or bad? Thanks.
User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 5296
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 1278
Contact:

Re: FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by dark_sylinc »

Apple forces VSync to be always on.

All framerates are locked to a maximum of 60 fps. That doesn't mean you're actually pushing the limits of the device.

XCode provides a lot of information; you can lookup there how much CPU % your app is using, the impact on battery, and the GPU % consumption. You can even perform a GPU capture to see the actual milliseconds spent on rendering a single frame. If it takes less than 16.67ms then you actually have computing power to spare and the device goes idle for the remainder.
User avatar
ENGine
Goblin
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Belarus
x 2
Contact:

Re: FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by ENGine »

Sorry,

Even if I add the following param:

Code: Select all

...
params["vsync"] = "0";
// Create the window and attach it to the given UI stuffs.
_mRenderWnd = root.mRoot->createRenderWindow([title UTF8String], width, height, false, &params);
Will the app be created with Vsync is on(Is it possible to switch off this param?)?
Did I understand you right? Then the max fps result will be about 60fps always, right? Thanks.
User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 5296
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 1278
Contact:

Re: FPS in mobile simulator -> your opinion

Post by dark_sylinc »

"Apple FORCES VSync to be always on."

There's no way to disable it (perhaps unless you jailbreak it, which is against Apple's EULA).
Besides there is no reason to disable VSync. There's no benefit from it, and it will only drain the battery faster and make the device hotter (although I do admit, for development it would be useful to disable it just to know how much spare frame time we have)
Post Reply