Simple Shader with HLMS

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
ds80
Gnoblar

Simple Shader with HLMS

Post by ds80 »

Hi all,
I am new to Ogre and have a question about making a new shader based off the Unlit HLMS. I am planning on implementing a multi-channel signed distance field (MSDF) operation for rendering text. Basically, I will draw 2 triangles to make a quad then render the text onto it from a MSDF texture atlas. There won't be any lights so I am assuming, based on what I've read, that the Unlit shader is the way to go. My question though is how do I go about adding the shader code I need? I've read about preprocessor directives and I've seen the .glsl files for Unlit.

Also, if I want to add some custom attributes to the Unlit shader or have different variations of it, what is the best way to go about it? (i.e. Unlit shader for different objects with different maps.)

Thanks!
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Re: Simple Shader with HLMS

Post by dark_sylinc »

ds80
Gnoblar

Post by ds80 »

Ok, so I think I am following along with the @piece stuff, but what I don't want every object to utilize the @piece that I customize? I would imagine there must be a switch on the C++ side to either include or not include the custom piece since as far as I understand everything gets loaded when the program starts.
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Post by dark_sylinc »

Hi!

You can wrap around the definition of the piece around a property like this:

Code: Select all

@property( my_shiny_feature )
@piece( custom_vs_something )
    //Code here
@end
@end
And then from C++ use HlmsListener::preparePassHash add the property via hlms->_setProperty( "my_shiny_feature", 1 );
This lets you toggle features per pass.