Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Discussion area about developing with Ogre-Next (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)


Post Reply
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by iblues1976 »

Hello all,

We want to start a new project and use OGRE 2.1. We have used before 1.7,1.8,1.9 but we know there is a big difference.
While 2.1 is not "officially" stable, I think the direction is what matters.

Is there a document that provides information about "How to get OGRE 2.1, build Ogre 2.1 from source" ?

Thanks
nickG
Greenskin
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Russia,Moscow
x 1

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by nickG »

i can share my note...but is written on russian+"for me"
Compiled under ubuntu
iblues1976
Gnome
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
x 10

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by iblues1976 »

Thanks,

I can always translate into english but I don't know if the automatic translation would be helpful. Ideally, I'm looking for a Windows build but anything will work.
Thanks
User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 5299
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 1280
Contact:

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by dark_sylinc »

The instructions are the same as in 1.x

The only addition is that if you want the samples (which you probably do) you need to turn on OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES2 (the old OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES contains the old samples which don't work)
If you're on windows you'll have to setup SDL2 paths manually on CMake so these samples can work.
Download and compile SDL2.

For example my setup is:

Code: Select all

SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC\Win32\Debug\SDL2.lib
SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR G:\SDK\SDL2\include
SDL2_LIBRARY G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC\Win32\Debug\SDL2.lib
"G:\SDK\SDL2\" is where I unpacked the SDL2 source code and compiled it (solution files for compiling with Visual Studio are in G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC).

EDIT: Also don't play with the CMake options too much. First get it running with the default settings. Once you got it, you can start tweaking it (just in case you bump into a broken one or an invalid combination, etc)
aymar
Greenskin
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:53 pm
Location: Florianopolis, Brazil
x 17

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by aymar »

I'm not sure, but if I recall correctly I kept generating the cmake a few times, always setting the available SDL2 options, and after a few times it managed to find, conifgure and set everything correctly.

I'll try again on Monday and if it actually works I'll share what I find out. :)
Kenshido
Gremlin
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Russia
x 12
Contact:

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by Kenshido »

Since from Windows 8.1 DirectX SDK is includes to Windows SDK, I needed to set variable DXSDK_DIR=c:\Program Files\Windows Kits\8.1\ in order to build SDL library.
User avatar
boyamer
Orc
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Italy
x 6

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by boyamer »

Ok,
I've managed to setup CMake build, the dependencies are the same?
nickG
Greenskin
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Russia,Moscow
x 1

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by nickG »

nickG
Greenskin
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Russia,Moscow
x 1

Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1

Post by nickG »

boyamer wrote:Ok,
I've managed to setup CMake build, the dependencies are the same?
yes
Post Reply