Idea about game engine for Linux

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
tongtunggiang
Gnoblar

Idea about game engine for Linux

Post by tongtunggiang »

UPDATE: The engine has been open-sourced!!!!!

With such a big project is this, only me is not enough, since I'm young and inexperience. I do this project completely for contributing for the community, so I accept every helps from the community as well. Feel free to discuss and contribute, because I'm so eager to learn from you!

This is where the project is currently located at: https://github.com/TongTungGiang/MagEngine

For those who have interest, this is my email: tongtunggiang@gmail.com.

Thank you very much!

-------- 3/11/2015 ----------------------
Hi all,

I'm a university student in Hanoi, Vietnam, and there is about one year and a half until my graduation day. My plan for graduation project is clear: make a game engine for Linux based system, since Linux has received many positive attraction for gaming now (games for Linux on Steam are more and more, Unreal Engine and Unity Engine have their Linux-port version - although it's not officially).

I chose Ogre as my rendering engine, because writing a complete new rendering engine is a hard and somehow redundant work. Also, I want to concentrate on features that a game developer can use to make his game, and rendering is just one of those features. Furthermore, Ogre was originally developed with Linux, so I think it would be a nice choice. And lastly, Ogre has many plugins, which makes it almost becomes a game engine.