Recommendation for the best approach to take?

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Garthy
Halfling

Recommendation for the best approach to take?

Post by Garthy »

I was wondering if I could get some recommendations on the best approach to take in my situation, from people who have a bit more experience than me in the area of content creation and use. I've spent a while trying to figure this out myself and am really having trouble wrapping my head around all the information, especially when so much is out-of-date or trying to sell me something that I may not need. I've sunk hours into this problem and it really feels like I'm getting nowhere on my own. I could really use some additional input.

First, some background: I'm a software developer, that side is no hassle. I'm quite familiar with 3D software development, and 3D engines, and much of their tech. I've been using Ogre for a short time in comparison, but I feel I've got the hang of it now and can find my way around the documentation fine. Using the Ogre3D engine isn't a big hassle for me.

However: When it comes to the 3D content *itself*, ie. the models themselves, tools commonly used, preferred formats, tricks of the trade, things to look for and avoid- I know next to nothing. I also lack artistic ability, don't have the tools commonly used for model generation, don't know how to work them, and don't have the time or opportunity to learn them in the detail required to do my own modeling. It is just an area I am not skilled in.

What I have: I currently have a bit of software that works fine with the included models with Ogre. Setup, animations, so forth, all fine. I load existing Ogre meshes (and indirectly, skeletons), and adjust animation states to animate the entity. This part is fine.