The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Yati
Greenskin
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
x 5

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Yati »

hi metaldev!

Awsome tool you've made here!

For my project I choose to go with FMOD for sound. I've made a class that we can attach to Ogre::SceneNode just like Ogre::Entity. I want to add a extra mode for locators to handle this sound entity. It should be pretty much the same as what you did with the mode entity.

But i can't find where this MEL script to do this is. Could you please point me in the right direction? By the way I'm not familier with MEL but looking at you code I understand most of whats going on.

Thanks!
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

Hi Yati,
If you want to add a type you can do it by searching in lfa_sceneManager.mel for

Code: Select all

	//////////////////// LOCATOR CONTROLS
	
 		menuItem -label "simpleNode";
 		menuItem -label "spriteCloud";
 		menuItem -label "particleSystem";
 		menuItem -label "lookTarget";
 		menuItem -label "trackTarget";
 		menuItem -label "entity";
 		menuItem -label "textFile";
 		menuItem -label "text";
but I don't recommend doing it this way because you are also going to have to modify lfa_UI.mel and maybe other places too to get it to do something useful for you.
The problem with doing it like this is that when I release bug fixes or updates, if you want the updates you will either have to merge or not get the updates (if you want them).

Imo, it will probably be easier if you use a locator as 'simpleNode' or as 'entity', and then use user data to add any information you want to it... including designating it as your special node type. In fact, you can probably just skip the locator altogether add the user data to the node that's carrying your sound. Anyway, at this point its a workflow decision that's up to you. My recommendation: use user data for this task. :)

If you haven't already, take a look at this.
mistigrii33
Kobold
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:42 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
x 7

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by mistigrii33 »

Hi,

My designer is using the LFA Scene Manager for MAYA 2012, and we got an issue we don't know how to solve.
Our problem is about the exported object which isn't casting shadow with a SHADOWTYPE_STENCIL_ADDITIVE, whereas is does with a SHADOWTYPE_TEXTURE_ADDITIVE.

Does anyone can give us some informations about this problem ? We saw that there's a "cast shadow" option, but it's only for a .scene file type...

Thanks :)
Looking for 2D in 3D environment menus ? try Gui3D : a GUI based on Gorilla !
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

Does anyone can give us some informations about this problem ? We saw that there's a "cast shadow" option, but it's only for a .scene file type...
this does affect the .scene, but it also exports the .mesh with edge list, which is necessary for stencil shadows.
mistigrii33
Kobold
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:42 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
x 7

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by mistigrii33 »

Alright, everything is working as expected now, thanks for the help and this exporter ! :)
Looking for 2D in 3D environment menus ? try Gui3D : a GUI based on Gorilla !
Yati
Greenskin
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
x 5

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Yati »

Hi Metal Dev!

I was wondering how you would advise us to use LFA tools if we were to use terrain. How would you use the LFA tools to place objects on terrain especially since LFA tools doesn't show a preview of the terrain? Is there a way in Maya to load a hieghtmap? I'm not asking if LFA tools can edit terrain, just preview with our other meshes. :)
I don't even really need it to be textured just the shape.


Thanks in advance
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

Yati wrote:Hi Metal Dev!

I was wondering how you would advise us to use LFA tools if we were to use terrain. How would you use the LFA tools to place objects on terrain especially since LFA tools doesn't show a preview of the terrain? Is there a way in Maya to load a hieghtmap? I'm not asking if LFA tools can edit terrain, just preview with our other meshes. :)
I don't even really need it to be textured just the shape.


Thanks in advance
This is a good question and a tough situation.
The LFA tools were designed to be used with exported geometry mainly.
Furthermore I don't know of a way to directly and reliably get height data into maya from an image (and i have tried).

However here is one possible solution off my head, which is simple and slightly hacky but should work:
1) export from your application or from your heightmap just the raw height values into some type of text file.
2) then in mel create a poly plane that has the same dimensions of your terrain (same width/length, same divisions, same number of verts)
3) in mel, iterate through the values, moving the y points of your plane accordingly... in theory it should map perfectly to your world. It might take a day or 2 of work but it would complete your pipeline. (in theory you should be able to reverse this process too!)

Sorry there is no direct solution that i can think of... hopefully the above seems feasible or maybe gives you some ideas.
Yati
Greenskin
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
x 5

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Yati »

metaldev wrote:
Yati wrote:Hi Metal Dev!

I was wondering how you would advise us to use LFA tools if we were to use terrain. How would you use the LFA tools to place objects on terrain especially since LFA tools doesn't show a preview of the terrain? Is there a way in Maya to load a hieghtmap? I'm not asking if LFA tools can edit terrain, just preview with our other meshes. :)
I don't even really need it to be textured just the shape.


Thanks in advance
This is a good question and a tough situation.
The LFA tools were designed to be used with exported geometry mainly.
Furthermore I don't know of a way to directly and reliably get height data into maya from an image (and i have tried).

However here is one possible solution off my head, which is simple and slightly hacky but should work:
1) export from your application or from your heightmap just the raw height values into some type of text file.
2) then in mel create a poly plane that has the same dimensions of your terrain (same width/length, same divisions, same number of verts)
3) in mel, iterate through the values, moving the y points of your plane accordingly... in theory it should map perfectly to your world. It might take a day or 2 of work but it would complete your pipeline. (in theory you should be able to reverse this process too!)

Sorry there is no direct solution that i can think of... hopefully the above seems feasible or maybe gives you some ideas.
I have been interested in learning MEL for sometime. :) This gives me the excuse :) Where would you recommend I start to learn it (at least enough to implement what you mentioned)?

UPDATE:
I think I found a easy solution :) . This tutorial: http://www.proxyarch.com/itp/tutorial/t ... tfield.pdf it shows how to import a height map onto a NURBS plane :).
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

Yati wrote: UPDATE:
I think I found a easy solution :) . This tutorial: http://www.proxyarch.com/itp/tutorial/t ... tfield.pdf it shows how to import a height map onto a NURBS plane :).
nice! I never knew about that tool. In the past I had tried to get terrain in using 'texture to displacement' tools, and this is the part that always got me:
A side note: depending on the scale of the
NURBS surface, the height scale might be off,
but this can be adjusted afterwards
best of luck with it, it looks like it could be a good solution.
Yati
Greenskin
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
x 5

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Yati »

metaldev wrote: nice! I never knew about that tool. In the past I had tried to get terrain in using 'texture to displacement' tools, and this is the part that always got me:
A side note: depending on the scale of the
NURBS surface, the height scale might be off,
but this can be adjusted afterwards
I'm quite sure what that means either >_<
yaoyansi
Kobold
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 4:42 pm

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by yaoyansi »

Cooooool
neighborlee
Halfling
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:16 pm
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by neighborlee »

metaldev wrote:hidy ho everyone,

i made a scene manager for maya... i tried to make it as easy and quick to use as possible with the artist as user in mind. Basically you just tag any objects you want to export with parameters. and then click export. Any parameters you tagged have been saved to the object. Also it can export a .scene / dotScene data file for you to load into your app.

more detailed instructions are can be found by clicking help in the UI (which prints out the readme in maya)
and also here:
http://www.lfa.com/help.php


to use it... you need the native exporter installed and working... then the file:
LFA_sceneManager.zip

unzip to:
C:\Documents and Settings\userName\My Documents\maya\x.x\scripts

then make a button or run the script: lfa;

hopefully it will make our lives a little easier. :)
any suggestions or critiques welcome.
Native exporter ?

Dou mean the maya exporter on Ogre tools website ?
I use maya 2009, so which one do I use, 2008 exporter..

I hope this thread is still relevant , but given the date of last response, Im not so sure; I wanted to make it clear
I realized that this had been quiet since 3/12.

thx
nl
========================================
all our tomorrows hold to hope we remember the past and make today a bright reminder of our humanity and what we have to look fwd to and become..
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

neighborlee wrote:
Native exporter ?

Dou mean the maya exporter on Ogre tools website ?
I use maya 2009, so which one do I use, 2008 exporter..

I hope this thread is still relevant , but given the date of last response, Im not so sure; I wanted to make it clear
I realized that this had been quiet since 3/12.

thx
nl
Yes, I still maintain the tools.
If you use 2009, you have to use the 2009 exporter.
Try searching for it in the forums, I can't remember who compiled that one
neighborlee
Halfling
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:16 pm
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by neighborlee »

re: Pulmo, and I know this is a year old post, but oh well worth a try :)?

I tried to run on windows 8,and it started, but I got no gameplay, just a background image and loading bar ( that moved a tiny bit, but then stopped and game crashed).

Is this no longer being supported on PC ?

thx
nl
========================================
all our tomorrows hold to hope we remember the past and make today a bright reminder of our humanity and what we have to look fwd to and become..
User avatar
GlowingPotato
Goblin
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:58 pm
x 10

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by GlowingPotato »

Is it possible to have this working with maya 2014 ?
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

GlowingPotato wrote:Is it possible to have this working with maya 2014 ?
Yes it is possible, but you or someone will need to compile the Ogre plugin for Maya version 2014.
(The LFA Tools will still work without the plugin, but you won't be able to export to .mesh)

If you have a programmer on your team, they should be able to do this for you without too much trouble.
User avatar
GlowingPotato
Goblin
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:58 pm
x 10

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by GlowingPotato »

Ty! i do have a programmer !

Is there any directions that he can follow ? on how to compile the plugin or any extra files that he will need ?
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

GlowingPotato wrote:Ty! i do have a programmer !

Is there any directions that he can follow ? on how to compile the plugin or any extra files that he will need ?
He will need to download the latest source for the Ogre Exporter for Maya, originally written by Bisco.
Then he will need the includes and libs found in your maya 2014 installation.

It should build an .mll and then he can give it to you and you should be able to use it like any other plugin.
Then you can install the LFA tools and use them to turn Maya into a scene editor basically.


EDIT: btw if he does build it for you, please do post it so it is available to the rest of the community.
That way any future Maya 2014 artists won't have to wrestle with it as well.
User avatar
GlowingPotato
Goblin
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:58 pm
x 10

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by GlowingPotato »

ok, in order to compile the plugin for maya 64bits ... i need an ogre 64bits compilation ?
User avatar
GlowingPotato
Goblin
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:58 pm
x 10

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by GlowingPotato »

Ok got it here already http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=69274

we gonna try to build the plug-in. Cross fingers!
User avatar
GlowingPotato
Goblin
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:58 pm
x 10

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by GlowingPotato »

Unfortunately our programmer does not have time to do the compilation. :(

If someone wants to try, I can send the Maya API(headers .h) and the necessary files. The link in my last post contains all Ogre 64bits compilations necessary.
Grognard
Kobold
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:40 am

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Grognard »

Hi metaldev, very impressive work.

I have a question, though. I can't seem to figure out how to get my normal maps into a material. They show up fine in maya but when I click "export material only" they don't show up in the material that's generated. I have the bump map put right inside the same material as the diffuse map, is that a no no? Or am I missing something else?
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

Grognard wrote:Hi metaldev, very impressive work.

I have a question, though. I can't seem to figure out how to get my normal maps into a material. They show up fine in maya but when I click "export material only" they don't show up in the material that's generated. I have the bump map put right inside the same material as the diffuse map, is that a no no? Or am I missing something else?
I set it up so that the material is expecting the normal map to come in through the 'bump'. That way you can see it in maya as well as in your application. It wont look quite the same of course but its better than nothing :)
Be sure you have set the maya material to be one of the 'normal map' LFA materials (either normalMap, normalMap_S, or normalMapPhong), or its not going to do any normal mapping. To do this select the maya material and open the lfa tools at the same time. Whatever LFA exports will show up in the tool window.
does this answer your question?
Grognard
Kobold
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:40 am

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by Grognard »

Thank you.

I get it now, the step I was missing was selecting the material so the dropbox didn't show up, but it was weird because it would export the right material even without clicking on it, just not how I needed. Maybe the pulldown should be there by default if a material is not clicked yet.
User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
x 15
Contact:

Re: The LFA Scene Manager for MAYA

Post by metaldev »

yea check this out... everything you need to know about materials with the lfa tools:

[youtube]JvEgbYLpH1Y[/youtube]
Post Reply