Who are you???

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
carlo
Gnoblar

Who are you???

Post by carlo »

Hi.
I've been playing around with Ogre for about 4 weeks now and love it! And of course, I have been enthusiastically showing guys at work what it can do (samples, and some of my first attempts at writing code). Being engineers (mining, mechanical) they, of course, dont have much of a clue about this stuff, though have some cool ideas of how we can use it in some of the technical stuff we do.

Anyway, I am just curious about what sort of people comprise this community - software engineers? Burger flippers? What sort of backgrounds do people have?

Speaking for myself, I am a civil/mining engineer/phd student who wants to use Ogre for engineering applications, simulation, and for a user interface for some mining equipment.

What about others? I guess I'm interested in finding out how many non-gamers (i.e. people who are more interested in real world/engineering/scientific apps) are out there.

cya
--
carlo
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin

Post by Robomaniac »

Name -- Robomaniac aka. sreComp9981 aka. Robo9981 or steye in bf1942 and America's Army

Age -- 15

Languages -- Visual Basic, C, C++, some Java, Javascript, and 3d Game Studio (i know, it sucks)

Experience -- none really, made a few small games in VB, and wrote half a game in Irrlicht, before porting it to Ogre (doing right now)
phear hingo

My Webpage
Antiarc
Greenskin

Post by Antiarc »