A peek in to the life of EagleEye...


14-11-2005 20:27:34

I figured I'd tell you all a little about myself, so you can understand me and my motivations... what I'm doing, and why...

I'm 30 years old, married, with 2 kids (23 month old girl named Alexis, and a 2 month old baby boy named Justin). I am a home owner, and somewhat of a stay-at-home dad. My wife works during the day, I work at night as a waiter at a local restaurant. I used to be an IT guy, but I quit that to be at home during the day with my kids, and so I could go back to school. I'm studying to get my teaching certificate (which requires a degree in my chosen subject that I want to teach). In my case, it's Mathematics. I'm wanting to be a high school math teacher.

My schedule is like this...

Monday and Wednesday, I am home all day and night. My wife works in the day, and has her own classes at night (she's studying criminal justice).

Tuesdays and Thursdays I have school in the morning and work at night. Soon my classes will shift to Monday and Wednesday mornings...

Fridays and Saturdays I'm home all day and work at night. Sundays I work all day from noon until about 9pm (central time).

I tell you all this so you can know when to expect me to be online.

Right now it's about 2:15pm... I just got done cleaning my kitchen, dining room, and living room. Daughter is taking a nap, and baby boy just went down for his as well... Taking care of them and cleaning my house took up a lot of my morning.

Tonight while my wife is at school, I'll be alternating programming and taking care of my kids. The baby boy is the most time-consuming right now because he needs to be fed every 2 or 3 hours. My daughter plays on her own quite a bit, but is still quite a distraction.

My biggest productive time is after 8pm when my wife is home and both kids are in bed. My wife takes the younger one's feedings, so I can work on my programming projects. I stay up until about 2am to take care of the middle-of-the-night feeding, so my wife doesn't have to get up in the middle of the night (because she works in the morning). She takes the 6 or 7am feeding before going to work, so I can sleep in until about 9am.

Rinse, repeat. :)

My life is quite full, with little time for pleasure-seeking activities. Sometimes, when I get home from work, I play counter strike for a while to unwind... but I find myself playing less and less, because it cuts in to my real productivity time.

The game I'm making is an MMORPG that I've been working on off and on since 1999. Much of the first 4 years was just design and concept work.

Later today, when the kids get up from naps, I'm going to be doing more cleaning... (My wife just got off of 6 weeks of maternity leave, and didn't do anything that whole time except make MORE of a mess of the house... now that she's back at work, I feel like I can finally get my house back in order... so I'm playing catch up.)

So anyway... that's a little peek in to my life.