Ogre with wpf client

ppontheweb

28-02-2011 21:05:54

hi all,

I am trying to embed the ogre in to the wpf client(Not MOGRE). What i want to do is wrap all the functionality in a COM dll and call the functions through WPF. I am currently working with Basic tutorial 1 for the sake of testing. My idea is to get the backbuffer and send it to the wpf app through interface and somehow render it there.... But i don't know how to do it.. I am new to OGRE but have a knowledge about DirectX. I don't want to use MOGRE as it is in a beta stage:(. So i have to work with OGRE.

Please help me in achieving this.....

Thanks in advance....

tafkag

28-02-2011 21:52:08

I don't want to use MOGRE as it is in a beta stage:(. So i have to work with OGRE.
The beta-tag shouldn't prevent you from using Mogre. The current release is stable and only a lack of feedback prevents mstoyke from removing the beta status.

If you don't need any unwrapped Ogre plugins, you should definitly try Mogre before wrapping anything yourself (and even then, wrapping the plugin should be easier to accomplish than wrapping Ogre funcionality).

ppontheweb

01-03-2011 05:58:27

Thanks tafkag....

that is a real breather for me.
Can any body from mods shed some more light on this.........................

Meharin

14-03-2011 20:31:07

Have you seen this article? http://www.codeproject.com/KB/WPF/OgreInTheWpf.aspx

Another link: http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=44263&p=323210#p323210

McDonte

16-03-2011 19:22:31

Have you seen this article? http://www.codeproject.com/KB/WPF/OgreInTheWpf.aspx
Thanks for this link, very interesting! This is for Ogre 1.4.8 and Mogre 1.4.8 but is it still actual?

Meharin

16-03-2011 23:59:10

I recompiled for 1.6.4, I believe, and I am now working with 1.7.1 as my signature indicates (although I have modified the OgreInTheWpf).

I think you should be able to recompile it against a new Ogre/Mogre. Can you do this or were you hoping for a binary?